clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

C-USA Football Coaches Vote Five UTEP Miners to Preseason All-Conference Team

Five Miners enter the 2016 season as preseason all-conference selections.

Southern Miss. quarterback Nick Mullens was named C-USA Preseason Offensive Player of the Year, as five UTEP Miners were voted to the Preseason All Conference USA team as voted on by the coaches across the league which was released today.

UTEP's selections are running back Aaron Jones, offensive lineman Will Hernandez, defensive end Nick Usher, linebacker Alvin Jones, and Warren Redix was voted on as a punt returner as UTEP's 2016 representatives.

Hernandez has started 25 games the past two years for UTEP, and was a C-USA Honorable Mention honoree last season, and was on the Phil Steele's Postseason All C-USA third team in 2015.

Usher was a 2015 all-conference honorable mention after a career best 10 TFL's in 2015, and will be UTEP's top pass rusher in 2016.

Alvin Jones had a banner sophomore year leading the ream with 93 tackles, and 14.5 TFL's.

Redix was played a number of offensive skill roles in 2015, averaging six yards per punt return last season, and totaled 419 all-purpose yards in 2015.

Aaron Jones looks to add to his legend as he returns from injury ranking 8th on the program's all-time rushing list with 2,341 rushing yards.  He is also on the 2016 Maxwell, and Doak Walker Award preseason watch list.

FAU's Trey Hendrickson was named C-USA Defensive Player of the Year, and LA Tech kicker Jonathan Barnes, and FAU punter Dalton Schomp were named Special Teams Players of the Year.

Offensive Player of the Year

Nick Mullens, Sr., QB, Southern Miss

Defensive Player of the Year

Trey Hendrickson, Sr., DE, Florida Atlantic

Special Teams Players of the Year

Jonathan Barnes, Jr., K, Louisiana Tech

Dalton Schomp, Sr., P, Florida Atlantic


QB          Brent Stockstill, So., Middle Tennessee

QB          Nick Mullens, Sr., Southern Miss

RB          Kalif Phillips, Sr., Charlotte

RB          Ray Lawry, Jr., Old Dominion

RB          Ito Smith, Jr., Southern Miss

RB          Aaron Jones, Sr., UTEP

RB          Jarveon Williams, Sr., UTSA

RB          Anthony Wales, Sr., WKU

OL          Michael Montero, Sr., FIU

OL          Reggie Bain, Jr., Florida Atlantic

OL          Darrell Brown, Sr., Louisiana Tech

OL          David Mahaffey, Sr., Louisiana Tech

OL          Michael Selby, Sr., Marshall

OL          Clint Van Horn, Sr., Marshall

OL          Maurquice Shakir, Sr., Middle Tennessee

OL          Cameron Tom, Sr., Southern Miss

OL          Forrest Lamp, Sr., WKU

OL          Will Hernandez, Jr., UTEP

TE          Jonnu Smith, Sr., FIU

TE          Ryan Yurachek, Jr., Marshall

WR         Trent Taylor, Sr., Louisiana Tech

WR         Richie James, So., Middle Tennessee

WR         Zach Pascal, Sr., Old Dominion

WR         Taywan Taylor, Sr., WKU


DL          Larry Ogunjobi, Sr., Charlotte

DL          Trey Hendrickson, Sr., Florida Atlantic

DL          Jaylon Ferguson, So., Louisiana Tech

DL          Gary Thompson, Sr., Marshall

DL          Rashaad Coward, Sr., Old Dominion

DL          Dylan Bradley, Sr., Southern Miss

DL          Nick Usher, Sr., UTEP

DL          Marcus Davenport, Jr., UTSA

LB           Anthony Wint, Jr., FIU

LB           Azeez Al-Shaair, So., Florida Atlantic

LB           TJ Ricks, Sr., Old Dominion

LB           Alex Lyons, Sr., Rice

LB           D’Nerius Antoine, Sr., Southern Miss

LB           Alvin Jones, Jr., UTEP

DB          Ocie Rose, So., Florida Atlantic

DB          Jalen Young, So., Florida Atlantic

DB          Xavier Woods, Sr., Louisiana Tech

DB          Jeremy Cutrer, Sr., Middle Tennessee

DB          Kishawn McClain, Jr., North Texas

DB          Justice Davila, Jr., Old Dominion

DB          Picasso Nelson Jr., Jr., Southern Miss

DB          Michael Egwuagu, Sr., UTSA

Special Teams

K             Jonathan Barnes, Jr., Louisiana Tech

P             Dalton Schomp, Sr., Florida Atlantic

KR          Kylen Towner, Jr., WKU

PR          Warren Redix, So., UTEP

LS           Darrell Travis, Sr., Louisiana Tech