clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

UTEP Football: Four Miners Selected to C-USA All-Freshman Team

Four Miners were designated to the Conference USA All-Freshman football team, as selected by the league’s 13 head football coaches.

UTEP’s four selections were linebacker Jayson VanHook, defensive back Justin Rogers, defensive lineman Chris Richardson and offensive lineman Greg Long. UTEP was one of three schools that produced league-high four players on the team. It’s the first time in program history that four Miners garner a spot in the all-freshman team. The previous two years, UTEP placed three Miners on the All-Freshman team.

VanHook played in all 12 games and moved to the starting rotation after the second game of the season. He notched 36 stops (17s/19a), 5.5 TFL (18 yards) and one sack. The linebacker ranked ninth on team in tackles and first amongst UTEP freshman. He posted a stellar showing versus Texas recording seven stops, 1.5 TFL and first career sack.

Rogers saw action in 11 games and in started in four at the corner position as a true freshman. He registered 17 tackles (10s/7a), one forced fumble, one fumble recovery, one interception, one quarterback hurry and seven pass breakups in his first season. Rogers posted first interception for 26 yards against FIU and added a breakup and three tackles.

Richardson played in all 12 games and earned starts in the last two showings. The defensive lineman recorded 21 total tackles (4s/17a) and a pass breakup. Richardson notched a career-high four stops against Houston Baptist.

Long played in nine games and made four starts as a true freshman. The El Paso native has seen action at the right guard and left tackle positions. Long’s efforts on the offensive line helped lead Aaron Jones as C-USA’s top rusher and UTEP’s all-time leading rusher.

  • QB – Mason Fine, North Texas
  • RB – Devin Singletary, Florida Atlantic
  • RB – Quinton Baker, WKU
  • OL – Ethan Reed, Louisiana Tech
  • OL – Levi Brown, Marshall
  • OL – Devin Hannan, Old Dominion
  • OL – Ty Pollard, Southern Miss
  • OL – Greg Long, UTEP
  • TE – Harrison Bryant, Florida Atlantic
  • WR – Stantley Thomas, FIU
  • WR – Ty Lee, Middle Tennessee


  • DL – Eric Kendzior, Louisiana Tech
  • DL – Ty Tyler, Marshall
  • DL – Tyshun Render, Middle Tennessee
  • DL – LaDarius Hamilton, North Texas
  • DL – Chris Richardson, UTEP
  • LB – Tyriq Harris, Charlotte
  • LB – Jayson VanHook, UTEP
  • LB – Josiah Tauaefa, UTSA
  • DB – Ben DeLuca, Charlotte
  • DB – Ephraim Kitchen, Louisiana Tech
  • DB – Chris Jackson, Marshall
  • DB – Justin Rogers, UTEP


  • K – Brad Davis, Old Dominion
  • P – Bailey Cate, Old Dominion
  • KR – Kerrith Whyte, Florida Atlantic
  • PR – Darrell Brown, Old Dominion
  • LS – Matt Beardall, Marshall