clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ryan Metz Named One of Eight Manning Award Stars of the Week

UTEP quarterback Ryan Metz was recognized as one of the Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, “Stars of the Week” on Monday. The honor was earned after the El Paso native’s performance, helping to lead UTEP to a thrilling 52-49 victory in five overtimes at UTSA on Oct. 22.

Metz is one of eight quarterbacks to earn the prestigious recognition and college football fans can go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. CT, the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.

Metz tied his career best with three touchdown passes at the Alamodome on Saturday night. The sophomore threw a 27-yard scoring pass to Aaron Jones in regulation, a 25-yard touchdown toss to Jones in the second overtime and the game-winning score to Warren Redix, a six-yard pass in which Metz rolled out his right and found an open Redix in the end zone. The Andress High School graduate finished with 211 yards on 15-of-23 passing and no interceptions. Metz engineered drives of 75, 65, 97 and 85 yards in regulation.

The other seven quarterbacks include, Jerod Evans [Virginia Tech], Lamar Jackson [Louisville], Pat Mahomes II [Texas Tech], Baker Mayfield [Oklahoma], Brent Stockstill [Middle Tennessee], Zach Terrell [Western Michigan] and Will Worth [Navy].

-----Via UTEP Athletics