clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Vince Hunter announced as a candidate for Julius Erving Award

Vince Hunter could be taking home a gallery of hardware after his stellar sophomore year.

Ivan Pierre Aguirre-USA TODAY Sports

UTEP's sophomore sensation Vince Hunter has been named a candidate for the inaugural Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award presented by the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame which honors the top small forward in Division I men's basketball.

The initial candidate list is comprised of 15 candidates, and in early March will be narrowed down to five.

The winner will be announced during the ESPN College Basketball Awards April 10th, at 8:00 p.m. Eastern on ESPN2.

Hunter started the season with five straight rebound and points' double-doubles, and now has 11 on the year he also leads C-USA in rebounding, and has blocked a team high 25 shots.

He is averaging 15.8 points per game, and 9.6 rebounds per game, and has reached double figure scoring numbers 20 times this season.  Hunter is also on pace to become the fourth player in school history to collect 300 rebounds in a season, and has pulled in 10 or more rebounds 11 times this season.

Other notable candidates on the initial list of 15 are Stanley Johnson from Arizona, Le'Bryan Nash from Oklahoma State, Sam Dekker from Wisconsin, and Jonathan Holmes from Texas.

The voters will consist of a national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel.

Make sure to stay tuned to MinerRush for coverage of all things UTEP sports. Also, make sure to on Twitter and as always don't forget to like our Facebook Page. Picks Up, and Go Miners!