clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014 WestStar Bank Don Haskins Sun Bowl Invitational Field Announced

UTEP will look to defend the 2013 title against Alcorn State, and either Kent State or North Dakota State.

Alex Nicolas-MinerRush

The Sun Bowl Association along with WestStar Bank announced the 2014 field for the Don Haskins Sun Bowl Invitational.

UTEP will open up the tourney with Alcorn State on Sunday December 21st at 7:00 PM, while North Dakota State and Kent State will tip off the tourney at 5:00 PM on the 21st.

The championship game is slated for 7:00 PM on Monday December 22nd following the consolation game which will tip at 5:00 PM.

North Dakota State is fresh off their 2014 NCAA Tournament appearance after their 26-7 season, and overtime upset of Oklahoma in the first round of the dance, before bowing out to San Diego State in the second round.

First year head coach Dave Richman could very well have the highest RPI rated team in the field by that time, the Bison reeled off 10 road wins last season.

Kent State finished 16-16 last year, and if they happen to face UTEP, I'm calling that Earvin Morris WILL drop 40 points on his old team.  Of note, the Flashes beat UTEP back in the championship game of the 1999 version of the Invitational.

The duo of LeAntwan Luckett and Octavius Brown return to lead Alcorn State to its second straight DHSB Invitational appearance.  Both are super athletic, and play above the rim, Luckett scored 20 points or more in nine games, while notching double figure scoring totals in 26 out of 31 games last year.

The Miners sport a 78-22 all-time record in the Invitational and will be looking for its 31st title.

UTEP will also be coming off a December 19th home date with Arizona, the tournament will cap off a three game in four day stretch in December for the Miners.

Tickets can be reserved starting October 1st.