clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

UTEP Football: Three Miners Garner All-Conference USA Football Honors

Conference USA announced their All-Conference teams with three Miners listed on the second All-Conference Team, and a trio of freshmen named to the All-Freshman Team.

Aaron Jones, Jerrel Watkins, and Autrey Golden were honored as second-team All-Conference USA selections the league announced today.

Jones who ran for 1,233 yards on the season was named All-C-USA offense second team along with senior offensive lineman Jerrell Watkins.

Autrey Golden returned two kickoffs back for scores in 2014, and was named All-C-USA second team for specialists as a kick returner.

UTEP offensive linemen Derek Elmendorrf, and Will Hernandez, along with linebacker Alvin Jones were named to the C-USA All-Freshman team as UTEP representatives on the rookie list.

In all six Miners were awarded honorable mention on the All-Conference lists.

Center Eric Lee, tight end Eric Tomlinson, defensive end Roy Robertson-Harris, linebacker Anthony Puente, and safeties Wesley Miller and Devin Cockrell all garnered Honorable Mention honors from the conference.

This year's UTEP selections mark the first time since 2009 that three Miners earned All-Conference honors in the same season.

Marshall led the conference with 10 players on the first and second All-Conference teams; Louisiana Tech had the most West division players with five named to either first or second team honors.

Individual awards will be announced tomorrow.

Here are the complete All-Conference and All-Freshman selections.




QB - Rakeem Cato, Marshall, Sr.
RB - Devon Johnson, Marshall, Sr.
RB - Jordan Howard, UAB, So.
OL - Chris Jasperse, Marshall, Sr.
OL - Mitchell Bell, Louisiana Tech, Sr.
OL - Clint Van Horn, Marshall, Jr.
OL - Josh Mann, Old Dominion, Sr.
OL - Cyril Lemon, North Texas, Sr.
TE - Jonnu Smith, FIU, So.
WR - Tommy Shuler, Marshall, Sr.
WR - Antonio Vaughan, Old Dominion, Sr.
WR - Lucky Whitehead, Florida Atlantic, Sr.


DL - Brian Nordstrom, Rice, Jr.
DL - Rakeem Nunez-Roches, SouthernMiss, Sr.
DL - Diaheem Watkins, UAB, Sr.
DL - James Rouse, Marshall, Sr.
LB - Neville Hewitt, Marshall, Sr.
LB - Derek Akunne, North Texas, Sr.
LB - Andrae Kirk, Florida Atlantic, Sr.
DB - Richard Leonard, FIU, Jr.
DB - Kevin Byard, Middle Tennessee, Jr.
DB - Xavier Woods, Louisiana Tech, So.
DB - Darryl Roberts, Marshall, Sr.


K - Corey Acosta, Southern Miss, Sr.
P - Tyler Williams, Marshall, Jr.
KR - J.J. Nelson, UAB, Sr.
PR - Richard Leonard, FIU, Jr.
LS - Matt Cincotta, Marshall, Jr.



QB - Brandon Doughty, WKU, Sr.
RB - Kenneth Dixon, Louisiana Tech, Jr.
RB - Aaron Jones, UTEP, So.
RB - Leon Allen, WKU, Jr.
OL - Brian O'Leary, UAB, Sr.
OL - Jerell Watkins, UTEP, Sr.
OL - Isaiah Anderson, Middle Tennessee, Sr.
OL - Cameron Clemmons, WKU, Sr.
OL - Darius Johnson, Middle Tennessee, Jr.
OL - Nico Carlson, Rice, Sr.
TE - Kennard Backman, UAB, Sr.
WR - Jared Dangerfield, WKU, Jr.
WR - Trent Taylor, Louisiana Tech, So.
WR - Jordan Taylor, Rice, Sr.


DL - Arnold Blackmon, Marshall, Sr.
DL - Michael Wakefield, FIU, Jr.
DL - Houston Bates, Louisiana Tech, Sr.
DL - Robert Singletary, UTSA, Sr.
LB - Jake Ganus, UAB, Jr.
LB - T.T. Barber, Middle Tennessee, Jr.
LB - Jermaine Holmes, Marshall, Sr.
DB - Triston Wade, UTSA, Sr.
DB - D'Joun Smith, Florida Atlantic, Sr.
DB - James Jones, North Texas, Sr.
DB - Bryce Callahan, Rice, Sr.
DB - Wonderful Terry, WKU, Jr.


K - Sean Ianno, UTSA, Sr.
P - Dalton Schomp, Florida Atlantic, So.
KR - Autrey Golden, UTEP, Jr.
PR - J.J. Nelson, UAB, Sr.
LS - Jesse Medrano, UTSA, Sr.


QB - Taylor Heinicke, Old Dominion, Sr.
RB - Reggie Whatley, Middle Tennessee, Sr.
RB - Shane Tucker, Middle Tennessee, So.
RB - Jowan Davis, Rice, So.
OL - Scott Inskeep, UTSA, Sr.
OL - Ian Gray, Rice, Sr.
OL - Forrest Lamp, WKU, So.
OL - Tre Carter, Louisiana Tech, Sr.
OL - Antonio Johnson, North Texas, Sr.
OL - Andrew Reue, Rice, Jr.
OL - Matt Simonette, Rice, Sr.
OL - Cameron Tom, Southern Miss, So.
OL - Donald Senat, FIU, Sr.
OL - Eric Lee, UTEP, Jr.
OL - Kirby Wixson, Louisiana Tech, Jr.
OL - Tyler Fisher, Old Dominion, So.
TE - Eric Frohnapfel, Marshall, Sr.
TE - Mitchell Henry, WKU, Sr.
TE - Alex DeLeon, Florida Atlantic, Sr.
TE - David Morgan II, UTSA, Jr.
TE - Eric Tomlinson, UTEP, Sr.
WR - Carlos Harris, North Texas, Sr.
WR - J.J. Nelson, UAB, Sr.
WR - Zach Pascal, Old Dominion, So.
WR - Taywan Taylor, WKU, So.
WR - Casey Martin, Southern Miss, Fr.
WR - Hunter Lee, Louisiana Tech, Sr.
WR - Mario Hull, Rice, Sr.
WR - Michael Thomas, Southern Miss, Fr.
WR - Kam Jones, UTSA, Sr.


DL - Zach Patt, Rice, Sr.
DL - Shubert Bastien, Middle Tennessee, Sr.
DL - Vernon Butler, Louisiana Tech, Jr.
DL - Ra'Shawde Myers, Marshall, Sr.
DL - Ashaad Mabry, UTSA, Sr.
DL - Denzel Perine, FIU, Jr.
DL - Dasman McCullum, Southern Miss, Sr.
DL - Chris Walton, UAB, Sr.
DL - Trevon Coley, Florida Atlantic, Jr.
DL - Pat McNeil, Middle Tennessee, Jr.
DL - Chad Polk, North Texas, Jr.
DL - Vontarrius Dora, Louisiana Tech, Jr.
DL - Roy Robertson-Harris, UTEP, Jr.
DL - Cody Rogers, UTSA, Sr.
LB - Jens Jeters, UTSA, Sr.
LB - Nick Holt, WKU, Jr.
LB - Tony Johnson, Louisiana Tech, Sr.
LB - Terrell Pinson, Louisiana Tech, Sr.
LB - D.J. Simon, Old Dominion, Sr.
LB - Alex Lyons, Rice, So.
LB - D.J. Hunter, Marshall, Jr.
LB - Anthony Wint, FIU, Fr.
LB - James Radcliffe, Rice, Sr.
LB - Anthony Puente, UTEP, Sr.
LB - Davison Colimon, FIU, Jr.
LB - Harris Gaston, UAB, Sr.
DB - Kentrell Brice, Louisiana Tech, Jr.
DB - Adairius Barnes, Louisiana Tech, Jr.
DB - Wes Miller, UTEP, Sr.
DB - Le'Vander Liggins, Louisiana Tech, Sr.
DB - Emmanuel Johnson, Southern Miss, Sr.
DB - Corey Tindal, Marshall, So.
DB - Jimmy Jean, UAB, Sr.
DB - Devin Cockrell, UTEP, So.
DB - Cre'von LeBlanc, Florida Atlantic, Jr.
DB - Julius White, Rice, Sr.
DB - Jacorius Cotton, Southern Miss, Sr.,
DB - Rolan Milligan, UAB, Jr.
DB - Cam Thomas, WKU, Sr.


K - Trevor Moore, North Texas, Fr.
K - Kyle Fischer, Louisiana Tech, So.
K - Garrett Schwettman, WKU, Jr.
K - Ty Long, UAB, Sr.
P - Hunter Mullins, UAB, Sr.
P - Kristian Stern, UTSA, Sr.
P - Eric Keena, North Texas, So.
KR - Richard Leonard, FIU, Jr.
KR - Carlos Henderson, Louisiana Tech, Fr.
KR - Reggie Whatley, Middle Tennessee, Sr.
KR - D'Joun Smith, Florida Atlantic
PR - Tommy Shuler, Marshall, Sr.
PR - Antonio Vaughan, Old Dominion, Sr.
LS - Rick Lovato, Old Dominion, Sr.
LS - Dallas Noriega, UAB, Sr.
LS - Nolan Dowling, WKU, So.



QB - Alex McGough, FIU
RB - Alex Gardner, FIU
RB - Ray Lawry, Old Dominion
OL - Will Hernandez, UTEP
OL - Reggie Bain, Florida Atlantic
OL - Derek Elmendorph, UTEP
OL - Brandon Ray, WKU
OL - Darius Garcia, Old Dominion
TE - Ryan Yurachek, Marshall
WR - Angelo Jean-Louis, Marshall
WR - Carlos Henderson, Louisiana Tech


DL - Graysen Schantz, Rice
DL - Deldrick Canty, Louisiana Tech
DL - Bunmi Rotimi, Old Dominion
DL - Derik Overstreet, WKU
LB - Alvin Jones, UTEP
LB - Anthony Wint, FIU
LB - DJ Sanders, Middle Tennessee
DB - Antavis Rowe, Marshall
DB - Secdrick Cooper, Louisiana Tech
DB - Kishawn McClain, North Texas
DB - Christian Byrum, Old Dominion
DB - Cornell Armstrong, Southern Miss


K - Trevor Moore, North Texas
P - Jarrett Cervi, Old Dominion
KR - Carlos Henderson, Louisiana Tech
PR - Kylen Towner, WKU