clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Miners Selected Second In Preseason C-USA Basketball Poll

UTEP is picked second among C-USA coaches, Vince Hunter and Julian Washburn named to All-Conference Team.


The Conference USA coaches have voted giving LA Tech and UTEP the top nods in the coaches pre-season poll for the upcoming season.

LA Tech and UTEP are picked one and two, while Charlotte checked in at three, and Old Dominion rounded out the released top four.

The Bulldogs lead the conference with three players on the ten man All-Conference team with Speedy Smith, Raheem Appleby, and Alex Hamilton, along with Miner guard Julian Washburn, and forward Vince Hunter.

Western Kentucky also has two selections, other notable selections are Pierria Henry from Charlotte, Aaron Bacote from Old Dominion, and both George Fant and T.J. Price from C-USA newcomers Western Kentucky.

Most conference teams get the regular season started on Friday November 14th, the Miners will host Washington State on 11/14 in their first tilt, and will also hold their annual Orange and White Scrimmage on November 1st at 3:00 P.M. in the Don, admission is free.

Student-Athlete - School - Class - Pos. - Hometown

Pierriá Henry - Charlotte - Senior - G - Charleston, W.Va.
Raheem Appleby - Louisiana Tech - Senior - G - Jacksonville, Ark.
Alex Hamilton - Louisiana Tech - Junior - G - Chipley, Fla.
Kenneth Smith - Louisiana Tech - Senior - G - St. Petersburg, Fla.
Aaron Bacote - Old Dominion - Junior - G - Hampton, Va.
C.J. Washington - UAB - Senior - F - Augusta, Ga.
Vince Hunter - UTEP - Sophomore - F - Detroit, Mich.
Julian Washburn - UTEP - Senior - F/G - Duncanville, Texas
George Fant - WKU - Senior - F - Bowling Green, Ky.
T.J. Price - WKU - Senior - G - Slidell, La.