clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Stone Cold Defense: UTEP's Julyan Stone Named to All C-USA Defensive Team

UTEP's Julyan Stone has been voted to the 2011 All Conference USA Defensive Team.  Stone had a monster year for the Miners and was used to defend opposing teams point guards, shooting guards, and even power forwards and centers at times.  Stone led UTEP with 7.4 rebounds a game.  UTEP's next closest rebounder, forward Jeremy Williams, averaged 5.4 rebounds a game.  Stone also finished tied for third, with center Claude Britten, in blocks with 0.5 per game.  

In other league news, Papa Dia of SMU was voted the league's defensive player of the year.  I can't argue with that selection.  Dia's towering presence in the paint could single handedly shape the flow of a game.  He's a tremendous shot blocker and rebounding machine.  Dia and Stone were joined on the All-Defensive team by Sai'Quon Stone of Southern Miss, Aaron Johnson of UAB, and Zamal Nixon of Houston.  

The league also chose Marshall's DeAndre Kane as the Freshman of the Year.  Kane was joined by D.J. Newbill of USM, Memphis due Tarik Black and WIll Barton, and Tulsa guard Jordan Clarkson on the All-CUSA freshman team. UTEP's John Bohannon did not make the team which isn't altogether surprising considering the fluctuation in minutes he had down the stretch.

The final awards were newcomer of the year which went to Tulsa's Scottie Heralson and Sixth Man of the Year which went to Brock Young of ECU.  UTEP really didn't have a candidate for either award.  Tomorrow, the league will announce the MVP.